Consumer Complaint Form

Before You Submit a Complaint to the Ministry

Please take a moment to review the guide for submitting a complaint to the ministry.

If you have questions about your rights under the Consumer Protection Act or other laws administered by the ministry, please call Consumer Protection Ontario at:
Telephone: 1-800-889-9768 or 416-326-8800 / TTY:1-877-666-6545 or 416-229-6086

Submitting a Complaint to the Ministry

  1. Please fill in all the details in this form. Mandatory fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) and must be completed in order to submit the complaint.
  2. We will let you know when we have received your complaint. If your submission indicates that a business may have contravened consumer protection laws administered by the ministry and we determine that mediation of your complaint is appropriate we will contact you regarding next steps. If your complaint is better addressed by another office, we may direct you to the appropriate entity.
  3. Notice of Collection of Personal Information - The collection of personal information on this form is necessary for the proper administration of the consumer protection laws administered by the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services and for law enforcement. The information will be used for the purposes of complaint mediation and/or investigation of potential contraventions of consumer protection laws by the business.

For more detail about the collection of information, please contact, in writing at: Director, Consumer Protection Ontario, Ministry of Government and Consumer Services, Consumer Services Operations Division, 77 Wellesley Street West, PO Box 450, Toronto ON M7A 2J6, or by telephone at 1-800-889-9768 or TTY 1-877-666-6545

(leave blank if you have not filed a complaint with the ministry)

Your Contact Information

1. Your Name and Mailing Address
2. Contact Information
Provide at least one of the following: Home phone, Cell phone or Work phone, as well as an Email address.*

Contact Information for the Business You Are Complaining About

3. Contact Details of the Business
Please include at least one way we can contact the business.
If you have a complaint about more than one business, please fill out a separate complaint form for each business.
Provide at least one of the following: Phone number, Cell phone, Fax, Email address.*
Include only one website in this field. If there are multiple websites for the business above, please provide those details in question 9a below.
Contact information of the person you were dealing with at the business.

Information About Your Complaint

4. Did you write a complaint letter to the business? *    
7. Method of payment
8. How was the agreement/contract formed? (If relevant to your case)
9a. What is your complaint about? (Max. 500 words) *
9b. If your complaint is against a collection agency, credit reporting agency, payday lender or bailiff, include details of the dispute or issue that you have with this agency or individual. (Max. 500 words)
10. Have you filed any documents with the courts?    

Supporting Documents for Your Complaint

12. Please attach supporting documents (These are needed to process your complaint)
Provide electronic versions of all documents you have to support your complaint. This includes:
  • A copy of the letter you have written complaining to the business, collection agency, credit reporting agency, debt settlement company, payday lender, or bailiff. Also include any response they have sent back to you.
  • Your contract including terms and conditions or any other related agreements (if applicable).
  • Copies of invoices, records of payments made, logs of calls from a collection agency, consumer reports or any documentation relating to the original debt relevant to your complaint.

We will review all documents provided to process the complaint. For the protection of your privacy and security of your information, do not submit any payment card information relating to credit cards or debit cards, banking information such as account numbers, or any other personal information such as Social Insurance Number, driver's licence number, Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP) number, medical records or passport information to the ministry. Do not submit copies of payment cards or identification documents as described above. If you are submitting statements, receipts or any other documents that include such personal information, please make copies of such documents and make sure credit or debit card or bank account numbers have been deleted or blacked out on those copies. Keep the originals and do not alter them.

Documents must be submitted in JPEG, Word, Excel or PDF formats.

Total attachments must not exceed more than 10 MB (megabytes) in size.

If you have additional documents that support your complaint but cannot be uploaded within these limits, please email the additional documents to consumer@ontario.ca after submitting this form. To ensure your complaint gets processed properly, when sending additional documentation, include your file number and ensure that the email is not greater than 10 MB total. File names of the attachments, including extension, cannot be longer than 30 characters and should not include special characters (e.g., $ or %). If you are submitting the complaint form by mail or fax, attachments can be mailed or faxed along with the complaint form.
Add a file

Select a file to upload


How Did You Hear About Us?

 

Tell Us About Yourself (Demographic Questions)

The following are six optional demographic questions. Demographic information is necessary for the ministry to identify trends and concerns with respect to how businesses interact with particular groups of consumers. This helps us develop effective laws and policies including with respect to enhancing consumer education and conducting risk-based enforcement of our consumer protection laws. Data collected will only be used or disclosed in aggregate, meaning you will not be identified, and answers to these questions will not be shared with the business.
1. Do you have any special needs or require any special accommodation that we should be aware of?
2. What is your age range?
3. Are you comfortable communicating in English (reading, writing and in-person or by phone)?
4. Have you immigrated to Ontario from outside of Canada within the last 5 years?
5. Are you on a fixed income or do you receive any form of income support? ? (e.g. Ontario Disability Support Plan, Canada Pension, Employment Insurance, social assistance such as Ontario Works, etc.)
 

Important Notice

Notice of Disclosure of Personal Information and Consent

Please note the complaint form and any attachments (excluding demographic information) may be shared with the business for the purpose of mediation or investigation. Your personal information will not be sold or shared for commercial purposes by the ministry. Is there any personal information on this form you do not wish shared with the business? *
Your complaint may be shared with a law enforcement agency in Canada, such as another ministry (federal or provincial), an administrative authority or other regulatory entity in aid of an investigation. Do you consent to sharing your personal information for this purpose? *
In some cases, we may determine that another government ministry (federal or provincial), administrative authority or any other regulatory entity is either better suited to, or may also, deal with the substance of your complaint. Do you consent for us to share your personal information with another entity that we have determined is suitable to consider your complaint? *
 

Submission in progress

Do not hit the back button or close your browser. Doing so may result in your submission being lost.

Plainte à titre de consommateur

Avant de déposer une plainte auprès du Ministère

Veuillez prendre quelques instants pour lire la marche à suivre pour déposer une plainte auprès du Ministère.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet des droits que vous confèrent Loi de 2002 sur la protection du consommateur ou sur les autres lois administrées par le ministère, veuillez communiquer avec Protection du consommateur de l'Ontario à :
Téléphone: 1-800-889-9768 ou au 416-326-8800 / ATS: 1-877-666-6545 ou au 416-229-6086.

Dépôt d'une plainte auprès du Ministère

  1. Remplissez ce formulaire. Veuillez noter que vous devez avoir rempli tous les champs obligatoires, marqués d'un astérisque (*), pour être en mesure d'envoyer le formulaire.
  2. Nous vous enverrons un accusé de réception de votre plainte. Si nous constatons que l'entreprise a en effet enfreint les lois sur la protection des consommateurs administrées par le Ministère et qu'une médiation serait appropriée, nous vous contacterons pour vous informer des étapes suivantes. Si un autre bureau est mieux placé pour traiter votre plainte, nous vous l'indiquerons.
  3. Avis de collecte de renseignements personnels — La collecte des renseignements personnels sur ce formulaire est nécessaire à la bonne administration des lois sur la protection des consommateurs relevant du ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs et à l'application de la loi. Ces renseignements seront utilisés en cas de recours à une médiation ou à une enquête si l'entreprise a enfreint des lois sur la protection des consommateurs.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la collecte des renseignements, veuillez envoyer une lettre à l'adresse suivante : Directeur, Protection du consommateur de l'Ontario, ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs, Division des opérations relatives aux services aux consommateurs, 77 rue Wellesley Ouest, C. P. 450, Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2J6, ou composer le 1-800-889-9768 ou le 1-877-666-6545 (ATS).

(à laisser en blanc si vous n'avez pas déposé de plainte auprès du Ministère)

Vos coordonnées

1. Votre nom et votre adresse postale
2. Modes de communication
Fournissez au moins un des renseignements suivants: numéro de téléphone à la maison, de téléphone cellulaire ou de téléphone au travail, ainsi qu'une adresse de courriel.*

Coordonnées de l'entreprise faisant l'objet de votre plainte

3. Coordonnées de l'entreprise
Veuillez indiquer au moins un moyen avec lequel nous pouvons communiquer avec l'entreprise.
Si vous voulez déposer une plainte contre plusieurs entreprises, vous devez remplir un formulaire de plainte pour chaque entreprise.
Veuillez fournir au moins un des renseignements suivants : numéro de téléphone, numéro de téléphone cellulaire, numéro de télécopieur, courriel.
N'inscrivez qu'un seul site Web dans ce champ. Si l'entreprise ci-dessus a plusieurs sites Web, veuillez les inscrire dans la question 9a.
Coordonnées de la personne de l'entreprise à qui vous avez eu affaire.

Renseignements sur votre plainte

4. Avez-vous envoyé une lettre de plainte à l'entreprise? *    
7. Mode de paiement
8. De quelle façon avez-vous conclu la convention? (si pertinent pour votre cas)
9a. Quel est l'objet de votre plainte? *
9b. Si vous portez plainte contre une agence de recouvrement, une agence d'évaluation du crédit, un prêteur sur salaire ou un huissier, veuillez fournir les détails du litige ou du problème avec cette agence ou cette agence ou cette personne. (Maximum de 500 mots)
10. Avez vous déposé des documents auprès d'un tribunal?    

Pièces justificatives de votre plainte

12. Veuillez joindre les pièces justificatives (elles sont nécessaires pour traiter votre plainte)
Fournissez la version électronique de tous les justificatifs de votre plainte, notamment les suivants :
  • La lettre de plainte que vous avez écrite à l'entreprise, à l'agence de recouvrement, à l'agence de renseignements sur le crédit, à l'entreprise de services de règlement de dette, au prêteur sur salaire ou à l'huissier. Joignez également toutes les réponses que vous avez reçues.
  • Votre contrat, y compris les conditions ou toute autre entente connexe (le cas échéant).
  • Les factures, les relevés des paiements effectués, les relevés des appels de l'agence de recouvrement, les rapports sur le consommateur ou tout autre document relatif à la dette initiale se rapportant à votre plainte.
  • Nous examinerons tous les documents fournis aux fins de traitement de la plainte. Dans le but de protéger la vie privée et la sécurité des renseignements personnels, n'envoyez pas de renseignements sur le mode de paiement au Ministère, en particulier sur la carte de crédit ou de débit, ou sur le compte bancaire comme votre numéro de compte, ni aucun autre renseignement personnel comme votre numéro d'assurance sociale, de permis de conduire, d'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario, de dossier médical ou de passeport. N'envoyez pas non plus de copie de cartes de paiement ni de pièce d'identité, comme indiqué ci-dessus. Si vous joignez des relevés de compte, des reçus ou autres documents sur lesquels figurent des renseignements personnels de ce genre, veuillez supprimer ou masquer les numéros de carte de crédit ou de débit, ou de compte bancaire sur les copies. Conservez les originaux sans les modifier.

    Les documents doivent être présentés au format JPEG, Word, Excel ou PDF.

    La taille de chaque fichier ne doit pas dépasser 8 mégaoctets (Mo). La taille totale des pièces jointes ne doit pas dépasser 10 Mo.

    Si vous avez des documents additionnels à l'appui de votre plainte, mais ne pouvez pas les téléverser parce qu'ils sont trop gros, veuillez les faire parvenir par courriel à consumer@ontario.ca après avoir envoyé ce formulaire. Si vous envoyez des documents additionnels, veuillez inclure le nombre de fichiers et vous assurer que la taille du courriel ne dépasse pas 10 Mo au total pour que votre plainte soit traitée en bonne et due forme. Le nom de fichier, incluant l'extension, ne doit pas dépasser 30 caractères. Si vous envoyez le formulaire de plainte par la poste ou par télécopieur, vous pouvez y joindre les pièces justificatives.
Ajouter un fichier

Select a file to upload


Comment avez-vous entendu parler de nous?

 

Parlez-nous de vous (questions liées à la démographie)

Les six questions suivantes portent sur la démographie et sont facultatives. Le ministère a besoin de données démographiques pour cerner les tendances et les préoccupations relatives à la façon dont les entreprises interagissent avec des groupes particuliers de consommateurs. Cela nous aide à élaborer des lois et des politiques efficaces, notamment en ce qui concerne l'amélioration de l'éducation des consommateurs et l'application axée sur le risque de nos lois de protection des consommateurs. Les données recueillies ne seront utilisées ou divulguées que globalement, ce qui signifie que vous ne serez pas identifié et que les réponses à ces questions ne seront pas transmises à l'entreprise.
1. Avez-vous des besoins particuliers ou avez-vous besoin d'accommodements spéciaux dont nous devrions avoir connaissance?
2. Quelle est votre groupe d'âge?
3. Pouvez-vous communiquer facilement en français (lecture, écriture et entretien en personne ou au téléphone)?
4. Avez-vous immigré en Ontario en provenance de l'étranger au cours des 5 dernières années?
5. Touchez-vous un revenu fixe ou une forme de soutien du revenu? (p. ex. Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, Régime de pensions du Canada, Assurance-emploi, aide sociale comme Ontario au travail, etc.)
 

Avis important

Avis de divulgation des renseignements personnels et consentement

Veuillez noter que le formulaire de plainte et les pièces jointes (à l'exception des renseignements d'ordre démographique) peuvent être transmis à l'entreprise aux fins de médiation ou d'enquête. Vos renseignements personnels ne seront pas vendus ou communiqués à des fins commerciales par le Ministère. Ce formulaire contient-il des renseignements personnels que vous ne souhaitez pas communiquer à l'entreprise? *
Votre plainte peut être transmise à un organisme d'application de la loi au Canada, comme un autre ministère (fédéral ou provincial), une autorité administrative ou un autre organisme de réglementation pour faciliter une enquête. Consentez-vous à communiquer vos renseignements personnels à cette fin? *
Dans certains cas, nous estimons qu'un autre ministère (fédéral ou provincial), une autre autorité administrative ou un autre organisme de réglementation est mieux placé pour traiter votre plainte ou peut également s'occuper de sa substance. Consentez-vous à ce que nous communiquions vos renseignements personnels avec une autre entité que nous jugeons apte à examiner votre plainte? *
 

Envoi en cours

Ne cliquez pas sur le bouton Retour et ne fermez pas votre navigateur, sinon votre envoi sera perdu.